Know The Three Graces of Greek Mythology

     The three Graces (Carites) were known to represent art (artistic representations) within Greek Mythology. Find out more about them by reading the article below.

Graces in Greek Mythology:

     The Three Graces or Carites in Greek Mythology, are the goddesses of banquet, concord, charm, gratitude, family prosperity and luck, that is, thanks. They were normally considered daughters of Zeus with Eurínome. However, other versions of the myth place them as daughters of Zeus with Eunomia, daughters of Dionysus, of Hera, and even of the sun god, Helium. 

     Homer wrote that they were part of Aphrodite's entourage, accompanying the goddess everywhere. Endowed with beauty and virtues, they also accompanied Hera, and were dancers of the parties on Mount Olympus. They were also identified with the primitive muses, due to their predilection for choral dances and music. Apparently, their cult began in Boeotia, where they were considered goddesses of vegetation.

The Three Graces Painting:

     Although not very relevant in Greco-Roman mythology, the theme of Graces was recurrent in Renaissance painting and gave rise to famous paintings such as Botticelli's The Spring (1445 - 1510) and Rubens' Three Graces (1577 - 1640). A curious fact is that in 15th century Florence, humanist philosophers saw them as the three phases of love: beauty, awakening from desire and achieving satisfaction. But, curiously, they also saw them as a symbol of chastity.


     Graces presided over banquets, dances, social gatherings and festive occasions. Therefore, this makes them the archetype associated with everything that brings us pleasure, contentment and positive emotions. The Triple Goddess, in general, is associated with human life cycles, such as the birth / life / death cycle. The name of each of them varies in different legends. In Homer's Iliad there is only one Carite, Aglaia. Despite regional variations, the most frequent trio is:

Talia (Θαλία or Θάλεια) - the one that makes flowers bloom.

Euphrosine (Εὐφροσύνη) - the sense of joy; Hipnos's wife.

Aglaia (Ἀγλαία) - the clarity; Hephaestus' wife.

     This archetype, therefore, teaches us that the virtues of love, charity and the production of the highest beauty must be sought within us through individual effort. Overcoming our thirst for vengeance, represented by the Erínias, so that the fabric of life allows us to enjoy the happiness and delight provided by Graces.

Check Now:

As for Kratos from God of War, we all already know! But what about the Cratos that really existed within Greek Mythology? Have you heard of or know their incredible story?

Roman Mythology: Are Greek and Roman Gods the Same Thing? In a simplified way, yes! With the exception of their respective Names. Check out everything about the Roman Gods below.

The Erinyes (or Furies) are, in Greek and Roman Mythology, women represented as a symbol of revenge. They are very similar to the Keres and, also, often confused, check it out.

Although Dragons are of Chinese origin, the Greeks also had their representations for the Dragon figure. We've separated for you 3 exclusive Dragons that only exist in Greek Mythology!

Jason, in Greek Mythology, is one of the most relevant Characters, so much so that, in addition to being a Hero, he is the son of Zeus, thus: a demigod. He knows more about its history, from Medea and Argonauts to the Golden Fleece.

The Griffin, in Greek Mythology, is a mystical creature with the body of a lion and an eagle's head. Unlike the Greek sphinxes (which are perverse and treacherous), Griffins are good creatures and often help demigods.

The Trojan Horse was a huge wooden horse used as a military strategy by the Greeks during the Trojan War. If in fact it existed, it was one of the greatest feats of warfare in history! Know.